A RAWR Idea

This week I was lucky enough to be invited by the superfood scientists at RAWR to check out their exciting new cocktail menu.

I guess you’re wondering how an alcoholic beverage and a delicious health-tastic lunch can happily coincide? Well so was I. When I typically think about cocktails the first thing that pops into my mind is a Sex on the beach (and proceeding sugar rush) so I was understandably curious about the feel-good twists RAWR were providing.

They provide a variety of classic numbers such as the mojito. This is a particular favourite of mine and the perfect drink to enjoy on a sunny day in RAWR’s outdoor seating section. The guys have kept all the key ingredients of this white rum concoction however, they’ve traded the usual sugar syrup for Xylitol- a plant based sweetener with 40% lower calories. All the taste, none of the guilt!

The pioneering superfood cocktails are definitely intriguing and although I didn’t opt for one this time, the “Russian Beets” is next on my sip list. This quirky number contains a 20170530_144132mixture of Quinoa vodka, beetroot, apple and lime juice finished off with Agave syrup.

After much scrutinising and many moments when I considered just ordering one of everything I decided upon an Espresso Dark ‘N’ Stormy. The original Dark ‘N’ Stormy is a Bermudian classic consisting of dark rum and ginger ale. RAWR’s take on this classic has the added treat of a double Espresso which went together brilliantly.

My boyfriend, Phil was a RAWR first timer and fairly confused in regards to cocktails at his own admittance. He chose to order an Old Fashioned created with Woodford Kentucky Bourbon, angostura bitters and Agave syrup to give it a sweet kick.

20170530_143537Of course, we couldn’t visit Stokes top Super Food lunch stop without having a bite to eat (I’m working my way through the menu), and I wanted Phil to have the full RAWR experience. I had a Caramelised Crunch bagel which was overflowing with delicious hummus, apple, caramelised onion chutney, sliced carrot and rocket.rawr2.png

Phil (a man who’s usual go to meal is ravioli from a tin) went for the Three Bean Loaded nachos with homemade guacamole, jalapeños and a covering of coconut yoghurt. The chilli contained just the right amount of spice and the ravioli stayed firmly in the cupboard that night!

And it gets better. I love their cocktails and I’m so confident that you’ll love them too so if you pop into RAWR and show them my blog, they’ll give you a fantastic 25% discount off your tasty cocktail tipple of choice!

I’d love to know what you choose, and hear how much you enjoyed your treat so it’d be great to read about it in the comments!

Leave a Reply

